Shocking decision! Referee misses blatant handball at Women’s World Cup

first_imgColombia provided the biggest shock so far in the Women’s World Cup as they defeated France 2-0 over in Canada.The South Americans registered their win with goals from Lady Andrade and Usme Pineda, as the French, ranked third in the world, crumbled.But as Les Bleues pushed for a leveller during the clash in Moncton they were denied possibly the most blatant handball since Luis Suarez’s for Uruguay against Ghana at the 2010 World Cup.As Eugenie Le Sommer, the scorer of France’s winner against England earlier in the week, moved through on goal, Colombian defender Daniela Montoya nudged the ball away from her head with a flick of a hand.Despite plenty of calls for a penalty, though, referee Liang Qin waved away appeals leaving the French fuming.Perhaps it was karma for Thierry Henry’s handball against Ireland?You can see the video above…last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *