Glitz and glamour at the LYIT Student Achievement Awards

first_imgThe annual LYIT Student Achievement Awards evening took place recently in the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny. The evening is a symbol of recognition and celebration of the recreational activities carried out by student Clubs & Societies leaders.Among the awards presented were; Most Outstanding Club Member, Leadership Award, Best Society and the Civic, Charity & Community Engagement Award, which is an award highly regarded in third level education circles and awarded in recognition of the club that best displayed their skills in engaging with the community. Mr Seamus Neely, Chief Executive of Donegal County Council, who was the guest speaker on the night, presented the Clubs & Societies Awards and commented in his address on the celebration of the work of the individuals and teams involved in the Clubs and Societies Programme at LYIT.The Ladies Basketball team in LYIT who are pictured with Makenzie Burud the winner of the Individual Sports Award at the annual Student Achievement Awards in LYIT. Included are Paul Hannigan, President, Mackenzie Burud, Paddy Gallagher, Sports Officer, Faith Welch, Billy Bennett, Regiatrar. Also included are Niall McDermott, Coach, Janah Rosagarron, Laura Deeney, Aoife Nolan, Aishling Nee and Seamus Neely, Chief Executive Donegal County Council, who was guest speaker at the Awrads.Seamus offered his warmest congratulations to all the nominated clubs and individuals and paid tribute to their contributions.He also emphasised that clubs and societies is a hugely important part of the student experience in college life, particularly in terms of preparation for future careers, both as employees and indeed as entrepreneurs.Seamus also stressed the value of the club experiences gained including; team work, time management, organisational, budgeting and people skills, all of which are skills that the students will carry forward to future employment. Clubs & Societies Scholarships were also presented to seven successful candidates. The winners were selected from many applicants.Each of the winners, who are leaders of their clubs and societies, received monetary awards in recognition of their efforts.The Afro Caribbean Society, winners of the Civic, Charity and Community Engagement Award at the Annual Student Achievement Awards in LYIT. Included are Seamus Neely, Chief Executive, Donegal County Council, who presented the award and Paul Hannigan, President LYIT.Mr Paul Hannigan, LYIT President, presented the scholarships to the winning students and complimented all clubs and societies on the worthy contribution they have made to college life outside of the classroom.Paul, in addressing the audience, complimented the programme as a valuable contributor in growth and learning. Paul also referred to a recent survey carried out in the region which identified the qualities of team-work, persistence and emotional intelligence as among the key factors sought by employers. Paul also underlined that the personal development of the student supports the workplace of the future.In referring directly to the Clubs & Societies Scholarship Programme, Paul encouraged all students applying for scholarships to ensure that they maintain their academic work in tandem with their club activities so that a healthy balance can be achieved. Pictured at the Lyit student Club & Society Scholarship and Achievement Awards held in the Raddission Hoetel Letterkenny are front row (l-r) are Guest of honour Seamus Neeley CEO Donegal County Coucil ,John Ugwu ,Paul Hannigan Lyit president ,Victoria Wilson ,Billy Bennett Lyit Registrar .Back row (l-r) Josephine Wilson (Student Union Administrator Lyit ),Diana Gango ,Luckas Vymlatil , Jo Lauezer , Elisia Gormley ,Rebecca Ross , Anne Marie Kelly ,Paddy Gallagher Student Services officer Lyit .Paul congratulated Josephine Wilson, Paddy Gallagher and all involved in the organising of the event and extended thanks to the Clubs & Societies committees and the Student Union for their work.The award winners on the night were as follows:Clubs & Societies Awards Winners• Jo Lau Ezer, Ultimate Frisbee Club, Most Outstanding Club Member 2018• Afro Caribbean Society, Award for Civic, Charity and Community Engagement 2018• Lukas Vymlatil, International Society, Leadership Award 2018• The International Society, Best Society 2018 Clubs & Societies Scholarship Winners1. Jo Lau Ezer, Ultimate Frisbee Club2. Diana Gango, International Society3. Elisia Gormley, LGBT+ Society4. Rebecca Ross, Badminton Society5. John Ugwu, Afro Caribbean Society6. Lukas Vymlatil, International Society7. Victoria Wilson, Badminton Society Sports Awards Winners1. Makenzie Burud (Basketball Ladies), Individual Sports Star Award 20182. Fearghal Harkin (Men’s Soccer), Special Recognition in Sport Award 20183. Ladies Soccer, Team of the Year 2018The Team of the Year Award went to the Ladies Soccer team, pictured at the Student Achievement Awards 2018 with Seamus Neely, Chief Executive, Donegal Co Council, Paddy Galagher, Sports Officer, LYIT and Johnny Baird, Coach. The ladies were Division 1 winners and also winners of the O’ Regan Plate competition.Glitz and glamour at the LYIT Student Achievement Awards was last modified: April 16th, 2018 by StephenShare this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window)Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window)Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window)last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *